Anonymity Or Not?

June 13, 2007

Is the Spud hiding behind a pseudonym through fear? Insecurity? Do I have some libellous information to post? One thing the Spud is doing right now is trying to work out which part of the following is the most preposterous:

Anonymous said…

Hang on a minute, isn’t the Spud blogging anonymously?? So what’s Ian Green getting so defensive about?As Ian himself puts it: “If you want to engage in the conversation – please reveal yourself.”

Why should posters not remain anonymous while the very bloggers they comment on are doing the same?

Spud (more or less) said:

I don’t feel like I’m anonymous, at least not to the same degree. Spudgun is a young blog right now, but the spud’s personality will become more apparent with each post and you’ll have an idea of what the spud is all about. And now you know where to find me

Anon, on the other hand, is and remains completely and utterly anon.

So I’m going to leave it to you guys to decide whether you feel that the Spud’s real life identity is of the national interest and should be disclosed under FoI legislation…

Should all commenters be forced at least to make up a name? After all, if the spark of imagination is bright enough for them to have something to say, surely there’s enough there to think up a name? I’ve got into plenty of discussions in the comments on other peoples sites, that die a death because there’s five or six anons posting, and no one has any idea who’s saying what, and to whom.

Would any contribution I might make be more valid if my identity was public knowledge? Is the same true for, say TWL. A blog with a history, a personality, but an anonymous blog none the less – not hidden, but anonymous. Or The Friendly Ghost? Or maybe even the myriad blogs that exist outside of our little world. I could go on…

9 Responses to “Anonymity Or Not?”

  1. Sally Says:

    Spelling, Spud, spelling. Anonimity??

    Tsk. Wasn’t ‘communication’ on that list of things PR types do?

  2. Spudgun Says:

    Sally, well spotted – you win five pounds

  3. Sally Says:

    Sorry, it was my inner sub leaping to get out…

  4. Spudgun Says:

    no problem, I’m more than happy to accommodate your inner sub. I’m sure the opportunity will arise again!


  5. I’ll add my twopenneth here too. I would suggest ditching the anonymity if you want the blog to be a useful tool at communicating who you are and what you’re about. TWL works great anonymously as it’s a gossip blog and sometimes cuts close to the bone and even sometimes gets things a bit wrong.

    Wise words from Microsoft’s Tom Murphy last year on the subject: “I don’t trust anonymous blogs full stop. If you don’t have the cojones to publicly stand over your posts why should I believe it?”

    Hope that helps…

  6. Linda Says:

    Hi Spud, I should like to see you reveal yourself.

    ….What you do about the blog identity is up to you though 🙂

    Personally, I ‘d say that you should stand up and be counted as someone with strong and reasoned views.

    Good luck.

  7. Spudgun Says:

    Simon, in all honesty I agree with Tom Murphy, but it’s not your exactly your trust I’m after. It’s your contribution to the debate.
    This isn’t about who I may or may not be, it’s simpler than that.
    in any case I don’t see the direct link between communicating who I am and what I’m about.


  8. Spud, the element of ‘trust’ was Tom’s but to follow his logic I’m not likely to contribute to the debate if I don’t think it’s a trustworthy one am I? Although admittedly I’m doing just that…

    I don’t quite get it when you say: ‘This isn’t about who I may or may not be, it’s simpler than that.’
    Could you explain?

  9. Spudgun Says:

    Let me explain, the opinions voiced on these pages are mine and mine alone, although I feel that they are reflective of the general mood in a large section of the PR industry.

    When I say “it’s simpler than that” all I mean is that the subject matter is more important than me.


Leave a Reply

